International Jazz Festival

The La Spezia International Jazz Festival is Italy's longest music festival dedicated
to jazz music. It has been held in La Spezia in the summer of each year continuously since 1969.
The idea for the festival came about through the initiative of Tiberio Nicola and other enthusiasts who, in 1968, had
formed the Friends of Jazz Association of La Spezia.
July 18, 1969 was the date of the first Festival Del Jazz della Spezia. Playing that evening were the trio of
Bill Evans (with Eddie Gomez and Marty Morell), the quartet of American saxophonist Lucky
Thompson and a big band led by Canadian trumpeter Maynard Ferguson.
Throughout the 55 editions, both La Spezia musicians and musicians of international have been featured such as The Manhattan Transfer, Earth, Wind and Fire, Dee Dee Bridgewater, etc.
Since the 53rd edition, the artistic direction has been in the hands of Maestro Lorenzo Cimino.



25th July: Stanley Clarke "N.4ever" quintet

26th July: The Manhattan Transfer

27th July: Earth, Wind and Fire by Greg Moore

28th July: Doctor 3

30th July: Al Di Meola

2nd August: Hyperion Ensamble e Daniele di Bonaventura - Omaggio ad Astor Piazzola